Home > Guides/How To's, Technology > How to find your WordPress API key

How to find your WordPress API key

I have just spent a long time trying to find my wordpress API key.

Your API key is used to link web applications to your WordPress blog, such as SiteStats or YouTube.

Almost every web tutorial says it’s on your profile page once you have logged into wordpress, however I think our friends at wordpress.com may have moved it recently and not yet updated their documentation.

So if you are looking for your wordpress API key (Assuming you already have an account), simply go to https://apikey.wordpress.com, log in and you will find your API key on the site.

Hopefully this will save you wasting your time digging through help files and web tutorials 🙂

  1. April 15, 2011 at 12:22 am

    Thank you!!!

  2. April 17, 2011 at 4:41 am

    THANK YOU. It was a freakin nightmare trying to find my API in the “new” wp. ARGH!

  3. Bran
    April 20, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Where do I go to add a user to the API access list?

  4. JRose Designs
    June 7, 2011 at 10:14 am

    You don’t know the gift you are! Thank you thank you thank you…hours and hours have gone by and now the answer that works!

  5. September 17, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Thank you for the information. I too wasted so much time looking for my API Key.

  6. campba
    September 28, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    This is possibly one of the most helpful posts I have ever read during my 15 years of using the internet. Thank you for saving me heavens knows how much time! Adrienne x

  7. jigsme
    November 5, 2011 at 4:54 am

    Mha man!!!! Save me from punch something around, kkk… I was getting mad 🙂
    Thank you Nik!!! 😉

  8. February 15, 2012 at 2:47 am

    Thanks – very useful.

    WordPress.com is great but I reckon they dropped the ball with this one. (Yes they made the link up – but they don’t seem to do much to help you know it exists! :))

    (Yes we should all keep copies of our API but still…)

  9. cestbonappetite
    February 17, 2012 at 6:59 am

    THANK YOU SO SO MUCH! I AM SUCH A NOVICE AND WAS FOLLOWING A STEP BY STEP GUIDE TO SETTING UP MY NEW BLOG, BUT THEY HAD NO MENTION OF THIS SO I SPENT AGES. SO HAPPY NOW

  10. wmw81
    April 24, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Thank you! A huge help!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

